Crazy Girl Stories – My Obsession with a Flower

PrimulaPot

I have strange obsessions with a few different things, but nothing caught me more off guard this week than a 99 cent Primula advertisement on a sign outside my local nursery.

Now I guess it may not seem that strange to be obsessed with a flower to some. There are many people who find gardening and flowers to be an amazing hobby, a chance to escape, or even just an object to love. Unfortunately, I’m not one of those people.

I’m a little different that way because while I love to appreciate the beautiful artistry that is Mother Nature (at any chance I get), it turns out that I’m just plain old terrible at managing to keep anything plant-like alive. The truth is, I don’t really know what my problem with plants and flowers is. I just know that I have not ever been able to tend to them properly, so there are always unfortunate mishaps.

For instance, one time I purchased an orchid from another local nursery because I was told they would be easy to maintain. I got some plant food (like they advised me to) and I took it straight home. I was so excited to have such an exotic new friend! I was SO happy! I decided then that I needed to do my best to try to keep something alive. It was my new mission.

I diligently fed and watered it daily. I put it in a window so it had lots of light. I talked to it and loved it every time I walked by. I was giving it tons of attention. And I thought I was going to win this time. This exotic lil thing was going to last awhile, or so I thought.

If you happen to know anything about Orchids, you will be able to guess what happens next…

My gorgeously tended flowers wilted and died within a week. 😦 All I was left with was a tall stick poking out of the soil. It broke my heart. It destroyed all my hopes of finally being able to keep a plant alive. I was devastated.

It turns out that Orchids are very easygoing flowers. They thrive in indirect light and don’t like to be watered too much, so I unknowingly had loved them to death. And I cried. Let’s just say that after that, I became more of a Cactus kind of girl… until now.

Now, it’s been years since the pain of that moment has passed, but I will never forget how awful it felt. So I found it very strange and intriguing that this advertisement for 99 cent Primula, Primroses seemed to be calling my name whenever I drove by.

For a week, that sign silently tortured me until finally I couldn’t take it anymore. Out in the car with my nephew yesterday, the lure was too much and I went inside to get a nice, new friend. This time I was better prepared though. I discussed the care of the Primula thoroughly before I made the purchase and was told that these really are cold weather flowers, so they would have to be outdoors.

Excitedly, I gathered up a potted set including 4 different colours and just knew they would be bright and cheerful on my balcony. They looked amazing!

Less than 10 dollars and 20 minutes later, my new Primula pot and I are back at my place. I watered them once (as directed) and placed them outside for some cool air enjoyment. I hope they like their new home. I named them the Lucky-Bunch, took some pictures, and here I am now.

I feel happy as hell that my obsessive thoughts were quenched and am optimistic about keeping them alive for a long time. Now I think I’m starting to understand that sometimes you just need to brighten things up and enjoy what life has to offer. Maybe this obsession will pay off after all. We’ll see…

Wish me luck! 🙂 I’m seriously going to need it.

Cheers!

PrimulaPink

11 thoughts on “Crazy Girl Stories – My Obsession with a Flower

    • Thanks so much! They continue to look great even after a freak windstorm battered their petals, so I’m hoping they will last a long time. Vines are great and can be very pretty when used as outdoor decoration too. 🙂

  1. i had a habit of overwatering. I killed cactus, which are supposed to be easy to grow, ferns, ivy, petunias, daisy flowers, you name it. I quit overwatering basically by pretending to forget about my plants. Somehow it works. Best of luck on gardening…it’s not for the weak of heart or water obsessive. Minda

    • LOLz! Thank you SO much for your advice and for sharing your experience too. I think you’ve hit it right on the head there. I should definately try to back off and just let nature do most of the work. I just can’t help it sometimes. I am an over-waterer for sure, but will try to resist the temptation as much as possible. 🙂 Btw, great site, I will be sure to stop by again soon. Have a great day!

  2. Hey what a great blog you have. Thanks so much for stopping by my ‘Spiritblack’ blod. I’m glad there was some content there which you liked.

    Looking forward to reading more of your stuff.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment. 🙂 I enjoy the way you weave elegant stories into your poetry, it feels very original to me. I can’t wait to come back and read more another day. 🙂 Cheers to you!

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply

